I LOVE YOU, My friend.

Something very special is in the air.

It glides. It drifts. It floats and if you remain focused, it comes in three’s … so they say.

I ‘m pretty sure it comes in four’s, five’s, sixes and sevens when you wish hard enough.

Two years ago this month, I formed a Master Mind.

Through trepidation, limiting beliefs, inferiority complexes, the ‘Am-I-good-enough-syndrome’ and ‘Who is going to want to join my venture?’ I decided to throw caution into the winds. I did and as a result a bunch of gorgeous women I’ve never met joined me.

I decided to throw out the bow line a few months later. I met one of the girls last year and it was awesome.

Action takes physical action. It’s not about sitting and wishing and hoping.

I remember how I’d done it then so I threw out another line just a few weeks ago.

Last week before I headed back to my old stamping ground on the Sunshine Coast, (Queensland, Australia) I made a point of looking up a few people, (some I figured were friends) who mean a great deal to me.

They were true friends. Every one of them I had approached (bar one) found a space that I could fill and I hope I filled that space with laughter and nostalgia and smiles that could burst a heart or two.

A few days later, content and peaceful I headed home and my own heart was fit to burst. I knew who my friends were. You know, those ones who don’t give a damn how much time has passed … because time means nothing … and we’ll all meet again whenever if ever … and my goodness you haven’t changed …

We tugged on the threads of yesterday and brought them into the now. It was beautiful. And I was gratified.

Then, if that wasn’t enough, and for me it never is, three days later one very dear friend of 48 years I have never forgotten, surfaced after many, many decades of absence.

We spoke for an hour and a half. Our parting words … ‘It’s as though I spoke with you just yesterday’ and I walked away from that call with a heart that was full.

I walked the beach this morning with my dogs and I felt so, so grateful for the connections in my life. Miracles were being placed before me like stepping stones.

But I wasn’t done. I wondered … there are others I’ve left behind. People who have moved on … there are dear friends I need to still know.

Then as I returned home I prepared to sort, clean and grade my collected shells. I felt grateful for the gorgeous memories of the past week that had pulled me back to a place I no longer belonged.

I felt liberated. Free. I didn’t belong in the past. I had moved forward and I was so in love with my life but my friends … where did they belong?

My phone rang and when I answered my smile almost busted my cheeks!

A gorgeous girl (she’s 40 odd) and I haven’t spoken for almost two years (since I left Glenview) and yet … I felt as though we had just spoken yesterday …

It’s what we carry in our hearts for the people to whom we gravitate and who gravitate to us.

It’s not Face book and its virtual friends whom you can ‘unfriend’ with a sweep of a mouse.

It’s those you truly care about. It’s those gorgeous human beings who care about you; who brought you to the place where you are right now. It’s those people who reach out to you just as you reach out to them.

It’s about caring and compassion and empathy and knowing that whatever happens, wherever you are, there are no barriers.

You’re right there beside me as I am right there beside you.

It’s about shedding that egotistic voice that forbids you to say what you truly want to say.

hug you

Before I turn 55 in about 8 days, I want to say hey, I Love You My Friend.

I want to tell you, Thank You for making Me who I am. Thank you for believing in me. For showing me how it’s done and for letting me do it My Way.

Thank you for the calls, the comments, the visits, the laughter, the tears, the understanding, the tissues, the wine, the happiness … that I’ll carry throughout the rest of my years.

Thank you for the opportunity to say without diffidence, ‘Hell yeah, I love you back!’

About Judy Rofe

I live on a slice of tropical paradise on the east coast of Australia where I get to freelance. I'm a content writer, a typical Australian with a passion for life who adores animals and people. Not necessarily in that order. I guess that's where the magic is. I'm fortunate to love what I do and I do what I love. I'm a Libran (messy/complicated/peaceful) and love spending time on the beach with my border collies when I'm not working, to find my ground. On the acreage, I'm interacting with the wildlife, writing lyrics, gardening with the lorikeets or just sitting with the kangaroos. It's what I choose that makes my life one of design rather than default. How does it get any better than this? Having chosen my career as a freelance writer I've ghost written two books, written an eBook and have dreams and goals I am achieving. I write my own as well as other company's blogs and my inner beliefs are a reflection of my values and all I cherish in my life. People fascinate me; particularly those who enter my realm and just as quickly leave it or who choose to stay and chat awhile. I've come to realise positivity does not attract negativity. In fact, negativity despises the happy, carefree soul. It's almost as though the lights are just too bright. My lights are always on :-)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment